Why Do I Love Mountain Climbing?

One of my friends asked me that question while we were chitchatting the other night at the gym. For someone who is not in the mood to tell a long story or to give a long answer, three words would suffice. This was my response to him: “I love nature.”

Of course, there’s more to those three words than he could dig. The chance to draw the story out has come.

So, why do I love mountain climbing?

First, I love mincing the awe-inspiring views at the summit: clouds, feathered creatures showing off their flying prowess, and aerial view of the low-lying hills. These are only some of what you can photograph atop. There is no other way to experience this exquisite feeling of amazement when you see the world at a higher level–literally and figuratively–than to hike for it.

“Leave your life each day as if you would climb a mountain. An occasional glance towards the summit keeps the goal in mind, but many beautiful scenes are to be observed from each new vantage point” (Anonymous).

Second, it gives me a clear answer on how far my stamina can go. I have been frequenting the sweatshop for quite some time now but I never had the chance to calibrate it through sport until I came across hiking. Doing it fuels me more to maintain my weight and shape (“When the Passive Health Buff is Provoked, the Blabbermouth Squeals“).

“Be master of your petty annoyances and conserve your energies for the big, worthwhile things. It isn’t the mountain ahead that wears you out — it’s the grain of sand in your shoe” (Robert Service).

Third, the kind of freedom it gives you just adds to top reasons. I can eat whatever and whenever without feeling chagrined knowing that I am burning them anyway. The opportunity to dance along with the long legs of the clock is also something else. I can explore at my own pace without any particular schedule, no lesson plans, no phones, no worries, just a hungry for perspiration spirit on the loose.

“I am old enough to know that victory is often a thing deferred, and rarely at the summit of courage … What is at the summit of courage, I think, is freedom. The freedom that comes with the knowledge that no earthly think can break you” (Bhagavad Gita Quotes).

Fourth, would be the adventure. I savor the challenge of summiting using these two lower limbs with their terminal parts. Our feet are the real adventurers (“The Real Adventurers“) because they are the ones who, technically, have the power to take us to the summit. That is the reason why I used them as the image of my blog once upon a time. Every step, every cut, every mosquito bite, every inquietude along the way is delicious. I was never bothered about having to eat the discomforts that backpacking offers but dithyrambic.

“By reading Huckleberry Finn I felt I was able to justify my act of going into the mountain forest at night and sleeping among the trees with a sense of security which I could never find indoors” (Kenzaburo Oe).

Fifth, it gives me the appetite to know what is inside and what is at the peak of the other mountains. Contrary to popular belief, what is inside one mountain is different from another. They are unique like us. Do not look at the obvious; instead, look beyond to agree with me. Refer to their shapes, sizes, heights, etc., and you will sure agree with me.

“Earth and sky, woods and fields, lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea, are excellent schoolmasters, and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books” (John Lubbock).

Sixth, it brings me closer to the Aura up in the sky. The more I see creatures from the plant and animal kingdom, the more I understand life; the more I acknowledge the fact that I am just a dot in the universe. To spark among the quattuordecillion dots in the Milky Way means interacting with His creations even with vermin. I appreciate and respect the trees, the flowers, the grasses, the decaying plants and animals, and most of all, the nourishing air of the mountains. The latter speaks of how I feed my soul. The two most important things I do at the summit are to commune with nature, Him, and charge my lungs with the air element–the universal power of pure substance according to traditional cultures.

“A mountain is composed of tiny grains of earth. The ocean is made up of tiny drops of water. Even so, life is but an endless series of little details, actions, speeches, and thoughts. And the consequences whether good or bad of even the least of them are far-reaching” (Sivananda).

Finally, I backpack to share the experiences and life lessons with you people, especially those who are close to my heart. We never know whom we can inspire. Sharing this piece of me is equivalent to sharing what I have and I believe I am growing because of these experiences as well as in sharing them.

“I am here for a purpose and that purpose is to grow into a mountain, not to shrink to a grain of sand. Henceforth will I apply ALL my efforts to become the highest mountain of all and I will strain my potential until it cries for mercy” (Og Mandino).

I am taking my hat off to the woman who has been cheering me on this endeavor, my family, my friends, and to my hiking buddies and masters. LIFE IS CONSTANTLY ACCELERATING BECAUSE OF YOU.

“My wife and I tried to breakfast together, but we had to stop or our marriage would have been wrecked” (Anonymous).
 
 
 
 
30 thoughts on “Why Do I Love Mountain Climbing?

  1. Pingback: THE REAL ADVENTURERS | Yobynos' Blog

  2. Pingback: MOUNT MACULOT’S IRONY | Yobynos' Blog

  3. I just started loving the outdoors, and particularly hiking, this year. I found out that most of the reasons you said here also coincide with mine — taking beautiful photographs, challenging myself physically, admiring what nature boasts of, and the adventures that each activity brings. I love seeing the world from a different viewpoint, so I always aim for the not-so-popular and unbeaten path. I wish to explore more of the Philippine mountains and other exotic places!

    Like

    • I’m delighted to meet The Bratpacker for taking time to share her beautiful words and site as well.

      Knowing that someone out there shares the same adulation for “outdoors” makes me agog to keep doing the same. There’s a comforting feeling of going on this blog when a fellow backpacker, or make that Bratpacker, gives a portion of his/her precious time.

      Thanks a lot, The Bratpacker! Let’s push on sharing the many wonders of alfresco adventures.

      Like

  4. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on my site Sony :) You have a great collection of travel photos! I envy your adventures :) I enjoy travelling and I hope I get the time to go on nature trips like you have :)
    Anyway, thanks again!

    Like

  5. nice sony, I wish I have the stamina like you..It seems you’re never tired of grueling challenges that comes your way up and down of every mountain..yes, you do inspire people and one of them is me..=)

    Like

  6. Hi Sony!, Well written piece! I admire free spirited people like you who has the stamina to go wherever they please. Mountain trekking and climbing requires that you are totally present in the “now” otherwise if you are not paying attention, you might end up falling into a ravine! A couple of things are going against me, I am afraid of heights, I do not like very narrow paths with very long drops, also my age is going against me. But then I am proud to say that my brother who is a year older than me, his wife, my niece and I was able to walk down and up from Batad last February. But I do not think I will want to do that again. I will just read your blog entries to savor the experience!

    Like

  7. Hi Sony!
    Like you ,I love travelling too, especially backpacking because of how exhilarating the whole feeling is. You absolutely captured why its so important to us. A love for nature, that sense of freedom , a life that is so different from the bustling life of cities and how all the time we spend with ourselves helps us in getting closer to ourselves- these are just some of the reasons. I am looking forward to read about your journeys and I hope some day I make the same journeys too.

    Like

    • “Merci” for giving me another reason to push on this endeavor. I am also thankful for meeting another kindred spirit in your being. Let’s continue to share the many wonders and lessons of backpacking to the world. I am also looking forward to your mountaineering experiences. May the Aura up there guide us always in the mountains.

      Like

    • I visited your site and I learned that you want to publish a book one day. May the Aura up there guide you on that endeavor. Thank you very much, by the way, for sharing with me a portion of your time. I appreciate it.

      p.s.

      Backpacking is, beyond question, so much fun – literally and figuratively!

      Like

  8. awesome post. sony. seems like you’ve said it all for me! Nature, fitness, adventure, experience. There’s truly a lot more things to do than stay inside a cubicle. I can pursue this type of lifestyle in the longer years to come. All in all for me, backpacking humbles me in so many ways and makes me realize that I’m not the only person whom the world should revolve to. :D

    Like

  9. Here is my favorite mountain quote that says it a lot better than I can:

    “You cannot stay on the summit forever; you have to come down again. So why bother in the first place? Just this: What is above knows what is below, but what is below does not know what is above. One climbs, one sees. One descends, one sees no longer, but one has seen. There is an art of conducting oneself in the lower regions by the memory of what one saw higher up. When one can no longer see, one can at least still know.” Rene Daumal

    Like

  10. Nothing like a few days in the wilderness living out of a backpack. Awesome blog you’ve got here! I’ll be checking out some of your adventures…

    Like

  11. Like you I love mountain climbing, one thing that scared me is when you have to hold on only to the grasses on the surface of the slopes just so you can continue ascending hoping that the roots of the grasses is strong enough to give you enough leverage and prevent fall. That’s the case on my last mountain climbing adventure. Climbing requires free time, desire and stamina. Having friends or company to climb with can add tremendous thrill and encouragement as if you are having a race. NIce that it seems you have them all. Yet it is sad that nowadays you also need to pray that your trip will be free from harassment that may come when you meet NPA or other outlaw during the climb. We do not have mountains in the plains of Florida, lots of beaches though so for now I’ll just cheer from afar and wish you all the blessings that mountain climbing could bring. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about mountain climbing. Nice post.

    Like

    • I could see why you are cautious now. My hats off to you on that point of view. Thank you for reminding me about the NPA thing. So far, our group didn’t encounter “them” on the trails. One thing we always make sure of is we check on a particular mountain we are to climb through reliable sources (sites, friends, locals once we’re at the place).

      I really appreciate your thoughts about mountain climbing there. Again, thank you very much!

      Like

  12. I am so terrified of heights, but I so envy you for that feeling of freedom and oneness with the Universe that I am sure mountain climbing embraces. It must be beautiful. We have mountains in Jamaica (the highest being Blue Mountain Peak at 2,256 meters) and I love to have them surrounding me. I don’t enjoy flat landscapes.

    Like

  13. Is there such a reason when we say “We Love?”. WE can define love in such many ways. But I believe that once we love someone or something its definitely beyond the word that can never define. Lets your heart feel the real essence of LOVE.

    Like

  14. Pingback: “To The Mountains” | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

I would love to read what you think, and I will get back to you in every way possible.

