First Taste of a Virgin Beach at Lukang Island, Pagbilao, Quezon

I had been to a beach at Port San Vicente in the northernmost part of Cagayan Valley back in high school where I experienced, for the first time, seeing the boundless ocean. We had that field trip, and summer getaway at the same time, last March 1997 to the port in relation to our subject, Economics. I thought no matter how far the surrounding islands or countries are, one can still see something from a distance. My amazement at how vast and limitless the ocean was explained by my ignorance. Although the seashore has a multitude of evidence that marine life is rich in the place, which can persuade one to explore, garbage were also evident. Some of my classmates surrendered to the not so inviting waters but unpreparedness and hygiene refrained me, so I just contently watched them frolicking in the waters. That is the tableau of my recollection about the first time I set foot in a tract of water within an ocean.

photo

The story I have for this kind of summer break ten years later, 26 May 2007, was completely different. I had all the reasons to give in to the beauty of a virgin beach. One proof I can give you is we were the only people who used the beach the entire time that day as part of our division’s team building activities sponsored by Mirant Power Corporation (now Team Energy). I am talking about Lukang Beach nesting in the heart of Pagbilao’s sylvan pulchritude.

photo 2 (2)

Such opportunity is only possible if a place is unexplored. Not that unexplored to be more specific. (I am warning the readers not to be much of a grammarian here so as not to misunderstand the adjective I used to describe the beach. It’s just, of course, an exaggeration.)

photo 1 (2)

The reasons why I found this beach virgin are it was kind of untracked during that time and it is absolutely clean–immaculate!

The first reason explains why I found the place to be solemn and relaxing while the second implies that there is zilch garbage everywhere. This is not an overstatement. The beach is sparkling with crystal clear waters, “greens (trees)”, “whites (sands)” and “blues (skies)”. Simply put, the place is not yet exploited from the buzzing sightseers or rubbernecks and that made the difference from the rest of the beaches I tasted like the ones from Port San Vicente, Batangas, Anawangin Cove, Capones Island, and even the Hundred Islands.

Some of my hiking buddies went there last May this year and I was saddened to learn that the beach–which is now popularly known as Puting Buhangin or Kuwebang Lampas–is about to become a possible candidate for abuse. If only all the visitors are aware of the Leave No Trace principlesStill, I am hoping that the rare beauty of the place be preserved for future visitors and for the Earth.

For more information (how to get to the place, more stories, special concerns, notes, etcetera), click this website: www.lakwatseradeprimera.com.

Related Articles

16 thoughts on “First Taste of a Virgin Beach at Lukang Island, Pagbilao, Quezon

  1. that looks so virginal Sony and that perhaps the reason on why it was called virgin beach.That would be so sad to know that this place is not taken care of..Sayang naman hope anyone who’s encharge should preserve it or even the people visiting this place..

    Like

    • Actually, I was the one who called it that way ;-) Hehe … Nakakalungkot lang talaga na sa pagdaan ng panahon makakasali narin to sa list of abused/explored islands of the country. Salamat sa oras, John!

      Like

    • I used to Cocomino. I was already transferred to another division since July 2009 so the people you saw on the photos were my former “teammates”. The friendship still remains though because they have been very nice – as my new division – is to me. Tomodachi de ite kurete arigatou!

      Like

  2. Sony, thanks for your post on Lukang Island! I would appreciate getting information on how to get there so if I have time in the future, I would also like to visit this place.

    Like

  3. I wish there’s something that beautiful and untouch close to my hometown. Boracay is the closest, about 4 hours drive but it’s very commercialized. May be someday, on my long overdue vacation, I can visit this place. Any beach adventure becomes super fun when shared with family and friends. Looks like you have a lot of those. Cherish them always. Thanks for the visit. Much appreciated. God bless you too and your family. Keep living the adventures for us.

    Like

    • (Source of the the following info: lakwatseradeprimera.com)

      HOW TO GET TO PAGBILAO QUEZON

      By Public Transport

      Ride a bus en route to Lucena (either from Buendia, Kamias or Cubao) and get off at Lucena Grand Central Terminal. From the terminal there are vans and jeepneys en route to Pagbilao. All buses en route to Bicol will also pass the town of Pagbilao.

      By Private Transport

      From Manila take SLEX to its end at Calamba and follow the signs towards Batangas. You will see a fork road on the right a short distance after passing the entrance to the STAR expressway. The right fork goes to Lipa City and the left goes to San Pablo – take the left fork towards San Pablo.

      You will pass the town of Alaminos and then San Pablo. Take the diversion road of San Pablo towards Tiaong. Just before Tiaong there is a left turn onto a road that goes through Candelaria and Sariaya. After Sariaya you turn right towards Lucena City and take a left turn onto the Lucena Diversion Road a few km outside the city. Once the diversion road rejoins the main highway, it’s only a short distance to Pagbilao town. If in doubt, just follow the signs to Bicol.
      HOW TO GET TO PUTING BUHANGIN

      By Boat:

      You may rent a boat from Barangay Bantigue. There are many boats docked at Sitio Malunggay near Carlos Beach picnic area. A fishpond is the major landmark for Carlos Beach. You may park your car near the basketball court if you brought your own transport. Silangang Nayon located in Barangay Bantigue also offers boat rental. You may also park you car here if you brought your own transport. Green View Motel or the signboard of Pueblo por la Playa at the corner of the National Road is a good landmark for finding the turn-off from the main highway to Bantigue.

      Alternatively you may rent a boat at Pagbilao Wharf also known as Daungan. You can either ride a tricycle or walk to this place from the town proper. Tell the tricycle driver to take you to the tricycle terminal in Sitio Kalawit, Barangay Pinagbayanan. It is located in a vacant lot right after the bridge. From here you may bargain for your boat ride. We rented our boat from here (Kuya Joseph – 09284154213)

      By land:

      Go to Pagbilao Market Terminal and ride a jeepney bound for Barangay Polo. Get off at the jeepney terminal in Barangay Polo. From there, you can either walk or rent a tricycle all the way to Puting Buhangin or Lukang Beach.

      You may also visit Gerry Lontok’s Pagbilao Sceneries website for more detailed directions on how to go toPuting Buhangin. He also documents other tourist attractions around Pagbilao, Quezon.

      Like

  4. We have many things or experience in common or I would say alike, just like when you talked about Sampinit in one of your blog posts, I was delighted that you know about that berries similar to raspberries (anyway that’s a different story) I was 12 and probably you are not born yet when I called a certain beach at Polillo Quezon virgin. Although there are locals in the island the place is truly unexplored at that time. The place is called “Agta beach” way back then every morning there are lots of starfish still alive in different colors purely yellow, purely orange or green etc. that are laying on the sand, in that beach, there are different shells with little creatures inside and you will sea the shells walking like sideways, jelly fish, crabs, sea urchins, fractured corrals, dollar shells etc. can be found on beach. When the tide went back a little further to the ocean those creatures unaware must be left behind, for the heat of the sun will bake them later. As a visitor in the area, It seems I’m the only one collecting shells and starfish in that remote place, the locals are not interested like me to bring samples of creatures from the sea. Now it’s been 32 years since then, I saw the place in the picture again at Facebook from somebody and the sand looks like devoid of those things I mentioned to you. The “progress” we called are removing the natural decorations of the beach and making them plain. I’m glad that the beach where you landed is clear and really with pristine water considering that’s year 2007. The place look so inviting, especially for my 17 year old son who like to snorkel. Last week we went on 7 days cruise to the Virgin Islands near the Carribean and of course the name Virgin Island is just a name. Anyhow St. Thomas beach gave my son real delight. While snorkling he found many sea creatures near a corrals and a sting ray he petted. But the beach at St. Maarten did not give him that kind of experience when we thought it will surpass the beauty of St. Thomas beach. Anyway I’m going to cut my comment dahil masalimuot na. Thank you again. I enjoyed your blog as always :-)

    Like

I would love to read what you think, and I will get back to you in every way possible.

