Mount Maculot’s Irony


It has been my practice that when I blog about a particular mountain I conquered, what I always, if not usually, do is to just note the events or my reasons from pushing albeit the narration in my blog entry entitled, “Why Do I Love Mountain Climbing?“. In this particular post, I only had two major notes. The first is, the word maculot, which means curly or unattractive in English, is an irony. Mount Maculot is absolutely paradisiacal. Subsequent to that is this was my “reunion climb” with Sir Bart Lee, who’s from Taiwan and whom I and my hiking buddies (HBs) made social acquaintance with during pinoymountaineer’s Second Annual Charity Climb at Mount Tirad Pass in Ilocos Sur last 05-07 February 2011.

The reason why I instantly said yes when I was invited to traverse this mountain was I want to know if this mountain is, to some extent, unattractive because it’s not that popular in the mountaineering society and because of the word maculot.

Passing Through the Steepest Part of this Mountain requires roping up for the final ascent.

After the grueling climb on that vertical trail leading to the summit facing the north, the exceedingly pleasing views atop somehow put back the exact amount of energy I consumed from the bustle.

When we reached the south peaked, I asked one of my HBs to take a photograph of me on the edge of one of the jagged peaks.

According to hard-core mountaineers, MACTRAV is not complete without making it to The Rockies. So we did.

I thought the views at 706 MASL were the nicest up to a time I reached the rockies. I was totally breathless upon looking at the landscapes around me. What lies behind and on top was an extreme surprise … or make that surprises.

The Rockies creates breathtaking views of Taal Volcano and the lake circumscribing it, Mt. Makiling and Tagaytay Highlands.

The globules of the rain were thrown upon by the wind’s blow a couple of minutes after I took the last photo in this series. So I prayed to the Aura that it be stopped because it will compromise our descent. And it did! This instance is another asseveration of how truly powerful a prayer is.

After a few minutes, Mr. Sunshine loomed over the horizon again giving another opportunity to take more beautiful photos.

Before I composed this blog post, I actually researched on why the mountain is named after the word maculot. I found out that curly-haired aborigines (Aetas) once lived in this mountain. It was named Maculot from “kulot“, meaning curly in honor to the inhabitants of the mountains (Aetas). I also learned that it’s not connected, in any way, to ugliness.

For more information (how to get to the place, trivia, special concerns, climbing notes, etc.), click this website: www.pinoymountaineer.com.

– Mount Maculot is my seventh conquered mountain (03 October 2010).

Related Articles

18 thoughts on “Mount Maculot’s Irony

  1. Pingback: Sundown, Club Balai Isabel | Malate

  2. Pingback: A Stranger in a Mountain – Mt. Maculot Solo Hike with Sitio Lumampaw Sidetrip « freeclimbers

  3. Beautiful view! Looks like you had a breathtaking hike!

    We are scheduled to climb this mountain this coming February. I am hiking with my dearest mom (she insisted this take note). Seeing the photo of the final ascent to the summit I can just imagine how funny (ay este FUN pala) it would be for us.

    I wanted to do the Rockies. How can I reach the top? Do I need to bring own gears (rope etc.) or it’s already provided at the site? 🙂

    Like

    • Nope. The rockies look steep and hard to to climb but all of us were able to reach the other side during the time we climbed it. Majority in the group were females. I don’t remember doing roping. So just use your strength.

      Motivate your mom. That’d be something to look forward to, Chia.

      That post, by the way, was when I was starting. Delivery is lame, right? But I have to keep it as it were because it keeps me aware of my improvement.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Sony, we are so excited! I shared this conversation to my Mom and she appreciated your reply. She’s more motivated now. Hahaha

    I don’t mind Sony. As long as I understand the point. It’s not our native language anyway. We all had been to that and continue to learn till today. We can only improve through practice. And I admire how you handle Mr. Perfect up there who hide by the name “concerned citizen “.

    Like

    • The world would be a lot nicer if majority of its people are like you, Chia.

      Yeah, that comment. To be honest, I was supposed to delete his comment. I refrained though. I realized, it’s a comment after all that that will remind me of how trying hard my writing is during that time. I was new in that kind of endeavor (travel blogging).

      Up to now, I still think I need to practice more than an average student does. He even linked his profile to dictionary.com.

      Approving his comment was my way of appreciating his time and efforts. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha It’s more convenient trying to be nice than being rude. Trolls will keep on trolling. You’ve handled him gracefully! Every big things started small. Look at you now. If you weren’t so trying before do you think you would improve that much? Idol! Hehehe

        Like

  5. Pingback: Why A Travel Blogger Like Me Writes About Grammar, & A New Batch of Pet Peeves on the List | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  6. Pingback: Catching the Rustic Sunset in Calaguas Island | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

