Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea


The Manila Ocean Park, which is located behind the Quirino Granstand in Luneta, Manila, was officially opened last 01 March 2008. Since then, visiting the underwater creatures at the oceanarium has been visible on my bucket list. However, it was only by 16 December 2010 that these maundering feet landed there. A big thanks to our big boss who sponsored our trip to Manila Ocean Park!

Being with the sea animals was therapeutic and entertaining. The oceanarium gave me a great visual pleasure not only because it’s my first time but because sea animals are just simply natural, amazing entertainers. The opportunity of being with them this close is something really special for me. I felt like I was really transported to the bottom of the sea.

For more information (how to get to the place, reservations, promos, packages, etc.), please click this website: www.manilaoceanpark.com.

Related Articles

202 thoughts on “Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea

  1. Sony – your photos and blog did what you partially intended, I think: made me want to visit the Philippines. I’ve been to many places but never to your country. I should be ashamed because I actually have several Filipino friends. I’ll have to tell them about your blog. I love to travel and write about it from a humorous point of view (wild native creatures and me always end up in Bridget Jones-like situations). I can’t imagine the trouble I’d get into in the Philippines, but I’m willing to give it a try. Congrats on being Fresh Pressed!

    Like

    • You really touched me with your comment, etomczyk. I am fervently hoping that you will visit the Philippines soon and for the blog post that you will make out of it – in a HUMOROUS point of view.

      Send my regards to your Filipino friends, and THANK YOU so much!

      Like

  2. Good job…thanks for sharing! Any time I see unique pictures of creatures…have to stop and look! Never expected such a great site…May God be with you in all that you do, according to HIS will!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea (via Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind) « shutupandreadit

  4. What wonderful shots! Thanks for sharing. Actually, I live about an hour away from Manila Ocean Park but .. I’m ashamed to say, I haven’t been there. I’ll try to visit one of these days. Marine creatures are truly amazing. I came face to face with a “Nemo” once & it took my breath away. If you can, please check it out in one of my posts (Coral Superstar). Write on!

    Like

  5. I love this! I just recently went to our local aquarium for the first time and took some wonderful pictures, but yours are really quite beautiful! Thank you for sharing!!!!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Early Birthday Gift: Getting Featured on Freshly Pressed | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

  7. I actually love this post. I just recently been to Ocean Park(my third time actually) last Aug29 with my family.Me and my husband always love being in the tunnel. Lucky for us that time that the divers were feeding the big fishes. When we get to the Dancing Jellies I just sit there in the dark room and realizing that the dancing jellies are very soothing to watch. The way they change colors with the colored lights at the bottom of the cylinder aquarium and the reflections they made on those mirrors were so pretty and amazing. If my kids weren’t getting hungry during that time and were bugging me already for lunch, I could just sit there for hours and unwind. Im from Davao, so going to visit the jellies won;t be that easy.

    Like

    • Wow! Reading your comment or, should I say story, made me feel equally relaxed as you whenever you are there watching the jellies. It’s so detailed and I was like seeing jellies on our office’s ceiling now. Thank you for sharing it with me, for the like, and for taking time to comment on this post!

      p.s.

      Send my regards to your family.

      Like

  8. You’re welcome. Reading is my passion and writing is an outlet. Being a blogger yourself,I know you feel the same way aside from those wandering feet of yours.Your posts are very nice to read.Keep it coming!

    Like

    • Thank you for making my day brighter, PG! I owe all the things I am now receiving for this blog because of your support. That also goes out to the multitude of bloggers who took time to put or click something on this very post.

      Best esteem.

      Like

  9. Congratulations my friend. Thanks for bringing a fresh and exciting ocean adventure to life. Those photos shows why a lot of us thinks the ocean is a magical place to be. The tropical, coral fishes are colorful and vivid. The son would have love to see those sharks which he finds fascinating. When I go back to Manila, I will definitely check this one out. Really cool!

    Like

    • You will sure enjoy the colorful oceanarium, my friend. More so, when you actually see those creatures showing off their “magic”. It will definitely captivate you and your camera. I can’t wait to see the story posted on your site.

      Until then …

      Like

  10. I visited the Manila Ocean Park last year when it newly opened, and I would say… the place is fantastic! A must-see especially for the kids. I love your photos!

    Like

    • Salamat, Nelson! I am proud that our country has this oceanarium. It can really attract tourists that easy because it’s truly world class. Kudos to the people behind maintaining its operation.

      Like

  11. I mean to be literal so I am giving an answer to that question. 😉 It’s magnificent. Of course, you know that. I like how how you gave a twist to that comment. It’s far better than simply saying magnificent. Thank you very much, Andy!

    Like

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fray | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  13. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else encountering problems with your website.
    It appears as though some of the text within your posts
    are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let
    me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be
    a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Kudos

    Like

  14. Pingback: A Totally Different Kind of Spa | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

