The Place Less Traveled By Tourists In The North


This particular trip (business trip to be specific) was actually one of the many privileges given by our good office. It was only now that I felt how lucky I was to be given a chance to visit a place that is still less traveled by the multitude of wanderers around and without having to spend a single centavo from my pocket.

photo (8)

Had I known that this blog will evolve into a travel blog, I would have bothered prowling on what the place has to offer as far as tourist spots are concerned before I got there last 11 February 2010 and to inflate this blog’s balloon. Nonetheless, I am convivial that despite the very nature of this trip, I had the opportunity to visit two historic and historical places to see in Bangued based on the information I got from “Biyahero, Phillipine Travel Portal”.

The first is the Bishop’s Cathedral of St. James Major, which is located across the town plaza. It was built by the secular priests namely Fr. Quintin Paredes and Segundo Teano in 1722.

photo 1 (4)

The other one is the Bishop’s House that showcases an early Tinguian Art in the form of a carved wooden baptismal front. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a photo of that. Instances like this makes me wish that this trip would have been for pleasure to utilize my camera phone.

One interesting travel insight I got from this trip is being able to appreciate a very calming feat of nature: the sunset. This was something I’ve never done before. I never truly appreciated such exquisite beauty until I stayed and killed the time on that special terrace of the hotel we stayed at located within the premises of Victoria National Park.

photo 2 (5)

The absence of a good conversationalist by my side paved the way for me to just savor what most nature lovers consider as breathtaking and calming view.

This is the moment where the trailing edge of the sun’s disk disappears below the horizon in the west!

IMG_0614

IMG_0616

photo 2 (6)

The following day before we headed to the Pastoral Center’s Conference Hall for business as usual so to speak, I had the chance to stroll along Bangued’s prominent park atop a hill. I got to see the picturesque panoramas of the neighboring towns while the summer breeze snuggles me in that caliginous morning.

photo (7)

The scenery reminded me of  the countrified villas in South America that I usually see in the movies.

photo 1 (3)

It’s also interesting to note that I had the chance to taste the famous tapuy, one of Bangued’s rarest products. This wine is considered indigenous according to Bishop Jaucian who boasted the meticulous processes involved in making it. Seventy percent peer pressure and thirty percent curiosity were responsible for a teaspoon of tapuy that entered my system in the night of 11 February 2010. Do you know who compelled me to try it? The Bishop.

Gleaning from what the Bishop told me, Abra could be developed into a more tourist attracting place, with its rich culture and historical heritages as well as the various unexplored spots. But to be able to do that, local politicians have to come together abandoning their notorious ways for said cause and more so for a peaceful and progressive Abra especially in its capital town.

I believe in the goodness of its people and that goes for the majority in Abra. I hope one day, this wrinkled paradise, will keep up with the two provinces of Ilocos particularly in terms of tourism.

I owe that task force who believed in what I can do big time, for letting me enjoy the privileges that came with it including this trip to Bangued, Abra. Actually, trips because I also had the chance to land to Zamboanga City, which paved the way for me to experience air travel for the very first time. Good thing stenographers were needed in the task force. It was unfortunate though that I didn’t bother to take some pictures of Zamboanga City considering time constraints and the very nature of our “mission”.

For more information (places to see, where to stay, and how to get to the place, etc.), visit these websites: biyahero.net and www.virtualtourist.com.

(Source of the Photos: iPhone 2G)

Related articles

18 thoughts on “The Place Less Traveled By Tourists In The North

    • Your time will come, John, and I’m sure that by the time that happens, your story and photos are going to be a lot better than what I shared here. I see a bright way ahead of you with your talent.

      It’s very comforting to see my adored blogger’s comment on this blog 😉

      Like

  1. Wonderful post! I appreciate how you describe your experiences so beautifully. I get the sense that I am actually there amid the breathtaking views. I am glad that I came across your blog. I enjoyed your other posts as well. I haven’t had a chance to read all of them, but I intend to “catch up.” By the way, I do agree with you that those sunset photos are very calming. It invigorates the soul. Anyway, if you get a chance, drop by my blog sometime too. Enjoy your journeys!

    Like

    • I’m glad to know someone who also appreciates the pulchritude of the mighty, breathtaking, and calming sun. I did a sort of detour to your blog and I learned how moving your words are. No wonder you are wordswithpurpose. I’m pretty sure I’m gonna be visiting your site every now and then.

      Like

  2. That was one amazing, peaceful Sunset…this town is beautiful. It does look like a European city…clean, beautiful. The Tapuy drink sounds interesting. I’m glad that you had a fun trip. Once again, you brought a post of fun and adventure. Bro, I wish to share the Versatile blogger award to you today. You deserve the recognition. congrats. God bless you and your family.

    Like

    • Been “haunted” by the deadline concerning academic commitments. That explains this late reply, Bro. My apologies.

      WOW! Receiving another recognition for this month from a genuine Versatile Blogger is real WOW! You made my day, truly! I’ll be hangin’ at your blog right after this to catch up.

      THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE RECOGNITION! God bless you and your wonderful family.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

  4. Thanks for putting the link on my blog post. It seems you have not visited Casamata Hill (it’s a National Park). Will be blogging about it soon. 😀

    Enjoy your travels!

    Like

  5. Sunset does have calming effect… made me remember the song we used to sing at my grandma’s home when we were little when it is sunset that says “Poong Jesus lubog na ang araw, at ang dilim nama’y kumakapal, liwanag mo sa ami’y itanglaw, at kami panginoo’y samahan” and so on. I have a classmate in college from Bangued, Abra who now live at Missouri, I like to explore the farthest north area of the Philippines but it seems it’s no longer feasible in my situation. I like what you said about travelling“…without having to spend a single centavo from my pocket…” there seems to be something in return for that. When the world is not in recession yet and we moved to the Phil. from the US year 2002 to 2005, whenever I come as traveling nurse to Florida the hospital I work paid my roundtrip airfare and three month housing. It really feel good to travel without spending money from our pocket but that also would mean being away from loved ones and family. It’s a give and take state of affairs. I think you will have many more business trip that will come along your way. Enjoy the ride and always be mindful that God is looking at you, He gives blessings and guidance for those who call on His name.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Muse | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

