Weekly Photo Challenge: Entrance


Philippines is a predominantly Roman Catholic nation in Asia, but there are still few Filipinos who practice aboriginal religion as there were still untouched villages during the colonial era, specifically by the three powerful nations: Spain, Japan and America.

So when I got to Mount Singakalsa a year ago, I was surprised that the Spanish conquerors were able to penetrate the ninth highest mountain of the Philippines for their God, Gold, and Glory campaign because of the church up the highland village of Atok in Benguet. I’ve always believed that the Cordilleras is one of the few “untouched” places until I have learned from delving the internet and t.v. shows that my belief was actually the opposite.

100_0727

Anyway, the reason behind choosing my entry for this week’s photo challenge is, it is an absolute necessity of the Holy Sacrament for every Catholic to undergo baptism in a church like the one on the photo for entrance to heaven. So there are actually two entrances on the photo in that case.

PS: Kodak C-813 

Related articles

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Entrance

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photos Challenge: Entrance | Inside Out Cafe

  2. nice enhancement bro, I thought you’re going to offer something fantasy but when I scrolled down,you come up to a nice comparison between the two realms..The fantasy and reality of going to heaven..I was also surprised knowing how patient those spanish men before that even mt.Singakalsa was invaded just to spread catholiscm.

    Like

    • I can’t focus the subject if I did not enhance it. Actually I just accidentally inverted the colors and it looked thay way. I liked it so I decided to retain it. Just a little story there bro. Dios mabalos sa imo!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Entrance | this man's journey

  4. I miss images like this. Our people don’t realize how lucky they are that they have the Catholic faith and religion to prepare them for the after life. It’s easy to get busy and get side tracked when you are in another country working your way through supposedly for a better financial life, but in reality, there’s more to it than just earning more. God above all things, and the rest will flow like a river of blessings. Great entrance photo. If I’m to vote, it’s my no. 1. Stay blessed. Best wishes to you and your family.

    Like

    • That’s a BIG compliment sir. Maraming salamat! With regard the first part of your comment, I was actually taken aback that you really have a lot to say about religion. Nonetheless, I am thankful that your faith is intact amid the hectic schedule.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Entrance « Memoirs Of A Madonna

  6. Pingback: Outreach to Mount Singakalsa | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

