Weekly Photo Challenge: Faces


“Be thankful for what you have, but never take what you have for granted. Share with those who are less fortunate. You do not know what tomorrow brings” (Catherine Pulsifer)

My entries for this week’s photo challenge are products of the Eleemosynary Climb (5.16.10) I and some of my hiking buddies conducted for the genuinely kind people of the scenic Mount Timbak almost two years ago, and it has something to do with the quotes festooned at the beginning and end of this post.

There’s no better way to repay the blessings we have than to give something out for the less fortunate ones. Being a part of that special climb is already a fulfillment more so when you see the happy FACES of these children upon receiving our little help — in the form of a school supplies set.

(1)

Only a stolen shot can capture that authentic emotion I am looking for, especially in subjects like this.

(2)

The doll-like face of this child is definitely a charm to my eyes.

(3)

No matter how distracting the faces of other kids are on this photo, the striking smile of that boy instantly erases those distractions.

(4)

This picture made me discover that I, indeed, have two hands. One is for helping myself and the other is for helping others.

“Seek something outside your nine-to-five job as an additional source of fulfillment and as a way to feel the joy of helping others.” Harold Kushner

PS: Kodak C-813

40 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Faces

  1. You are really something. Since when did you start doing this community work? I’m kind of afraid these things, you know to help people. Afraid of how they will treat me. But I’m glad you just did great.

    PS: I think you missed out the word “KNOW” in ” You do not what tomorrow brings.”

    Like

  2. Hi bro, I am deeply touched by your kind deed here..I love the innocent faces of these children and on how you lit and brought smile to them.Continue this bro,there’s nothing more satisfying than to help the less fortunate ones..You’re one kind hearted fellow..This challenge is great and what you have posted is great too…=)

    Like

    • I wish I could do this more often … Yeah, the sense of fulfillment from helping others is really worth it, especially when given extra effort like climbing 2,000 meters above sea level just to transport the stuff. The sense of fulfillment is exhilarating and all I could mumble when I was seeing how happy these kids were is, “It’s worth it! I wouldn’t mind hiking the 2,000+ elevation of their sanctuary if chance says ‘hello’ to me again.”

      Dios mabalos, John! I’ll check your entry in a bit.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Faces « my name's aRVee

  4. You have a good and generous heart. Those kids do look so happy, genuine smiles that we all can learn from. I used to visit an orphanage in the past and I’ve never seen how happy they are when a visitor brings a gift, offer a time to play, sing or dance. Real faces, real people. Thanks for bringing goodness and inspiration to the world around you. Just reading brought a smile to my day. I will not forget the joyful smile of those children. God bless you and your family.

    Like

    • Real faces, real people … I’d like to add REAL SMILE, REAL JOY!

      I hope that the next time you visit that orphanage, you’ll get to see the same kind of faces you saw here. God bless you and your wonderful family too.

      P.S.

      BELATED HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUR WIFE!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Outreach to Mount Timbak | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

  6. There is nothing more enjoyable and satisfying than seeing a little child happy. You captured happy children in your photos. Thank you for your acts of kindness. I hope you have the opportunity to do it again. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  7. My friend, thanks for the recent words. I almost drop my iPhone! Seriously, I can’t help being honest with what I write. It seems just natural. You guys are best group of blogger friends I ever had. You support each other in the most positive, inspiring way. I don’t even share like this to my “physical” friends. I guess when you feel accepted for who you are, you respond by living a life of gratitude. For as long as you guys are there, I’ll be around the corner. Give my regards to your wife and son. God bless to your family. Live life to the fullest! Thanks, Bro!

    Like

  8. Your shots on those kids are amazingly gorgeous…. But most of all, you got my attention for your genuine heart! You are a very good example to others like us — I love your quote here “I, indeed, have two hands. One is for helping myself and the other is for helping others.

    Like

    • Salamat sa compliment, allaboutgoodlife! Like you, I am inspired by good things about life. The world has been wrapped with too much hate already and sharing the good things like the feeling of fulfillment we could get out of helping the underprivileged brothers and sisters couldn’t be more satisfying and apt, especially now that the “ber months” has started. You sure know what the “ber months” signify in the Philippine Culture.

      I am so feeling the Christmas since the “ber months” started and I can’t help but post things about good life. After all, Christmas in it’s truest essence is about giving. Hence, this post. I guess it’s a great way to start the “ber months”, don’t you think?

      Like

  9. You have such a kind spirit Sony. I’m sure that those kids will always remember that day. I couldn’t agree with you more that helping the less fortunate is a wonderful way to repay our blessings. Also, your photos capture their sweet smiles beautifully. Plus, your photos brought a “smile” to my face. Go Sony (aka “generous spirit)! By the way, I noticed that you added me to your blogroll. Thanks! I sure appreciate that! I don’t have a blogroll yet, but your blog rocks! I’m still catching up on some of your older posts. 🙂

    Like

Feedback is most welcome!

