Reading Another Few Pages Of St. Augustine’s Proverbial Book Through Saudi Arabia’s Red Sand


Like I said in my previous post, setting foot on a foreign land was not really my dream. But sometimes, fate has its way of weaving its web so that my feet is now wandering and working in the center of the east.

I actually thought of creating another blog to chronicle my travel stories and adventures in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), but I realized didn’t have to. Working here will pave the way for me to experience new cultures, places, among other things that will definitely contribute to my growth. I am already growing as a traveler and my wandering feet is no longer limited to my country. There’s no better place to record this next chapter of my travel stories than in this blog.

Following in time of more than a month of being here, I had the chance to travel with the “aid” of my ever helpful fellow Filipinos/newly found friends whose feet are also as itchy as mine. So, I would like to share my experience to the first tourist spot I visited in KSA, Red Sand, on a beautiful Friday last 01 June 2012.

It only took us an hour drive from Riyadh City to reach the place. When I was face to face with Red Sand, I couldn’t help but marvel at what I was seeing. The reddish orange color is visually stimulating and irresistibly inviting to my wandering feet — and theirs. The best way to get a feel of this pulchritudinous desert is to use the quad bikes for rentals. Therefore, each of us gave in.

We hastily picked our way through the breath-taking red sand in the middle of the glowing, scorching heat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They say first love never dies; I say first travel experience in a particular place is, at all times, enlightening.

Recently, I found out that my preconceptions about the natives were wrong. The media and returnees make us think that the world is a gruesome place. The people here, natives or not, are just like you and me who are struggling to get by at the end of the day.

Our adventure to Red Sand made me read another few pages of Saint Augustine’s proverbial book.

Someone from the tropics is inclined to be attracted to greeneries, mountains, beaches, rivers, and other land forms and bodies of water until the day I stepped on the Red Sand. This natural wonder is completely new to me yet the level of amazement I felt when I set foot on in some of the most beautiful places in my country is just equal to the former. I cringed upon learning that that we are not, after all, bound to like every facet of Earth’s beauty no matter where it’s from.

Quad bike riding is a liberating experience. Never knew that driving a quad bike is far easier than driving a motorcycle. This is the first time I drove like crazy. (I wish I had somebody to chase and picture my every racing move when I got the hang of it though.)

Seeing this plant’s striking green leaves and vibrant little flowers amid the sizzling rays of the sun reminded me that everything has its right place in this world and that God’s power is indefinable.

At one point, I saw this falcon circling and swooping around like he was playing with me. Looking at what this falcon can do inspired me to soar as high as I can be. That is, for the career I have chosen to pursue here.

Above all, it always feels invigorating to see something new, especially as new as this stunning Red Sand.

Related articles

9 thoughts on “Reading Another Few Pages Of St. Augustine’s Proverbial Book Through Saudi Arabia’s Red Sand

  1. What a stunning post, Sony – it has quickly become one of my favorites. The reason being you are stationed in another element and choose to share not only the gorgeous pictures, but also your corresponding thoughts.

    “Looking at what this hawk can do inspired me to soar as high as I can be.” This, my friend, inspired me most. I wish you the best of luck and success in your endeavors there, and as always, look forward to reading further chronicles.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  3. Pingback: The Camel Corral in the Desert | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  4. Pingback: Quad Biking, Dune Bashing, & Nature Tripping at the Most Popular Desert in Saudi Arabia | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

