Moment Of Impact


Being part of the first-ever Amputee Climb in November 2009, which was featured on GMA’s “Born to be Wild“, was my perfect moment of impact as a mountain climber and travel blogger. The experience, with the four amputees namely Rommel Cruz (a practicing nurse), Leah Medrano and Sherilyn (technicians from the Philippine General Hospital’s Prosthetic Laboratory), Taruc (a utility man), and all those who made it to the summit of Mt. Batulao that fateful day, has indeed changed me.

Looking back now, I could say that the ripple effects of this life-changing experience did reach far beyond what I had predicted.

Without a doubt, we all have the potential to inspire.

Related Articles

Photoessay: The First Annual Amputee Climb at pinoymountaineer.com

One foot at the summit, and the other foot up in the air: The First Annual Amputee Climb! at pinoymountaineer.com

First Taste of the Summit at Mount Batulao at yobynos.wordpress.com

Batangas (en.wikipedia.org)

10 thoughts on “Moment Of Impact

    • Indeed, Aleks. Each time I reminisce that first solo travel and climbing experience, I still see that peculiar determination to make a difference in the faces of all the four amputees. I can’t help but write and discover more and more how far our potential can go. Be it in traveling, writing, or personal life.

      Like

  1. Bro, that was and is amazing! Climbing for a cause. Climbing for something lasting with the potential to create a good ripple effect that would change so many lives. Perhaps one day, I would climb with your group. Lately, been climbing my version of mountain of life as I been slowly my faith in God again. Fell from a mountain of bad circumstances and trials the past few years. Sometimes, it seems easy to just give up and retreat but I’m glad I persevered to climb again…thanks to my wife and son, and my God up there who didn’t give up on me. Oh, part of that climb made me realize, time to take off the mask and be a part of the brave and the climbers of positive change in this world. God bless you and your family.

    Like

    • I was actually surprised when you took the mask off but I would say it’s for the better. Finally, I must say.

      I admire your courage, bro. The way you injected it to the actual climbing experience made me understand what you’ve been.

      Well, there is always light at the end of the dark tunnel. I’m glad you persevered.

      Cheers to optimism and perseverance!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Where The Four Great Amputees and Mountains Led Me | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

