Top 4 Asian Budget Restaurants In Riyadh


I am Number Four: Cusina in Electron Centre Building, Batha

Cusina is a Chinese, Japanese, & Thai restaurant—the first of its kind in the city. (It is not in any way related to the trendy Italian restaurant called La Cucina in Al Faisaliah Hotel-South.) Majority of what you can see though are Japanese cuisines. They have an assortment of menu items so I am sure you can find what fits your Asian palate. The good thing about this restaurant is people, particularly Filipinos, are flocking to the place.

I was with my travel buddies when I visited the restaurant. We waited long enough to get curious about the kind of hype it projects. We had enough of the flashy reception by the time we got inside and secured a table for six. It was a fun and gastronomic adventure nonetheless.

IMG_0357

We had a good time with our  beef noodle, barkada treat (which comes with different kinds of maki laid on a big boat–the instant favorite) fried rice, and fruit shakes.

If you are someone who value a table top conversation before and after a meal, I will not recommend this place because of the low ceiling and stifling spaces between tables. The Japanese cuisine is a bit pricey too. Nevertheless, the dishes are okay and you can make the most of them and the attractive ambiance with SAR 30-50 in your pocket.

The Third Man: Wok to Walk in Qurdubah Plaza beside Tamimi Markets, Qurdubah Exit

There are many wok restaurants in the city but Wok to Walk stands out for me. Who would not bite the idea of making your meal at your request the quick and healthy way. They have an array of veggie meals to choose from the Menu. The same goes for non-vegetarians. All the meals, which ranges from SAR 20-40, have that distinct smell of Asian dishes.

IMG_0248

I am one of those who do not really prefer common fast food like burgers or fries. I want rice and this restaurant has that healthier alternative.

IMG_0256

All you have to do is follow their simple three step menu where (1) you choose your base (rice or noodles which is of various types); (2) pick your ingredients (vegetables such as carrots, mushrooms, tomatoes, to name a few and meats from chicken, beef, prawns, to tofu); and (3) choosing your sauce (Barbecue, Sweet and Sour, Peanut, Coconut Curry, or Teriyaki). Once you confirm, your dish will be directly cooked in front of you. Watching how they do it is actually encouraged. In three to five minutes, your food is served.

IMG_0269

One wow thing about Wok to Walk is, it caters to every customer especially those with dietary requirements (weight loss, vegan, or vegetarian diets) or prefer tons of meat like beef (my kind of meat here) or any kind of gourmet treats. The downside is, tables are not enough for this kind of restaurant.

I got to this restaurant on a random day. I and my colleagues/friends had to buy some stuff at the supermarket. I got hungry and I told them I need something similar to Chow King’s Chow Fan but it should be served quickly.

2 Fast 2 Furious: Panda Express beside Tamimi Markets, Dabab corner, Thalateen Street

Long before I got the chance to eat at Panda Express, I have already heard a lot of buzz about the restaurant. Blogs and news are also  humming for its opening, which took place last November 2015.  Riyadh is already teeming with restaurants but there is just something that pulls the crowd if it is a world-famous joint that is coming to town.

IMG_0756

Panda is a Chinese restaurant that became a big hit in the United States and now, the world.

IMG_0767

I only tried it once so far and I got immediately disarmed by their broccoli beef with fried rice. I will surely come back for more to try other dishes in the Menu. The sound of their “create your plate” combo option, with either two or three main courses and a side dish with fried rice, is tempting.

IMG_0780

Two distinguishing features of Panda Express are its high ceiling and tables that are spaced well apart. They backfill any lull in the conversation. The drawback is, they lack service crew. As a result, waiting for your food is a trying experience.

You need SAR 30-60 to get enough of their Chinese cuisine.

The One: Tokyo Restaurant in Al Orouba Street, Al Wurdud

Tokyo Restaurant is the first Japanese restaurant in the concrete jungle of Riyadh and probably the most successful, gleaning from how many people I see inside each time I visit. It offers only the finest of Japanese cuisine in the city at reasonable prices. The irresistible thing is, the foods’ taste is not sacrificed.

IMG_0881

This Japanese restaurant combines tradition and exceptional presentation to excite guests.

IMG_0891

Their Menu has a variety of choices with just the right prices. Makanouchi Bento is my all-time favorite because it offers just so much of the major dishes and its absolutely economical.

IMG_0887

Since it is a low ceiling restaurant like Cusina, noise is beaming. Still, Tokyo Restaurant is by far the best among the rest particularly when it comes to the foods’ taste. With SAR 40-70, you can chow an authentic Japanese cuisine and experience a glimpse of Tokyo through their display of old-fangled samurai armor paired with prehistoric, framed Japanese writings on the wall.

#riyadhdestinations #saudiarabia #travelstories #foodreview #cusina #tokyorestaurant #pandaexpress #woktowalk

Related Articles

Wok to Walk’s official blog: recipes, news and lots of fire! (woktowalk.com)

The How, Where, What of Riyadh for the Week (destinationksa.com)

Cusina – A Restaurant in Batha (cebuanawithlove.wordpress.com)

Top 5 Restos that Must Come to Riyadh (thepinktarha.com)

Tasty Yummy Wok Food (thefoodtechie.com)

Where to Eat in Riyadh (theculturetrip.com)

17 thoughts on “Top 4 Asian Budget Restaurants In Riyadh

  1. Panda Express is a fast food chain here in the US. Based on the picture above, it looks like a service restaurant there. My kids love Panda Express. 😄

    I bet after all the yummy Arabic foods you’ve had, you crave for all those delish Asian foods. I crave for Asian food on a weekly basis especially sushi. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nakakatakam yung fried rice ah. oh ngayon ko lang napagtanto na hindi pala masaya magkwentuhan kapag mababa yung kisame. susubukan ko ngang obserbahan yan sa susunod ha ha

    Like

  3. Sounds like there is a lot of mouth-watering Asian food where you are based, Sony. So many choices, certainly spoilt for choice. I too like you prefer healthy food. Though I like rice, I am more of a noodle person, and one of my favourite noodles is claypot noodles (crunchy or fully boiled).

    Very nice shot of the broccoli and the fried rice. Didn’t know there was Panda Express in Saudi. We don’t have that here in Australia. I’ve read reviews saying that Panda Express doesn’t serve authentic Chinese fare. But in order to believe it I will have to try it someday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, you’re into noodles. Glad to know. I actually like it too. It’s just that I would, of course, prefer rice when I’m hungry. And, knowing my background. I come from a country whose staple food is rice.

      I actually read not so good reviews about the restaurant from Chinese people. Well, they know better I must say. But for us who don’t do authentic Chinese cuisine, we could be deceived.

      You be the judge if ever.

      Liked by 1 person

Feedback is most welcome!

