The Appetizing Dive Into Indian Summer


Located in one of the main shopping districts of Riyadh, Indian Summer in Hai Ul Murooj is the easiest to reach from our workplace and a good place to go to for those who crave Indian food.

My work friends and I have been frequenting Indian Summer since 2014 but it is only now that I decided to feature it on the blog. After all, it has been almost a year since I published a food blog post. On the 1st of June, Randy, Joel, and I rushed to said Indian Summer Restaurant branch to make the most of the few remaining non-fasting days. That was practically three days before Ramadan started.

IMG_4042

We arrived there a few minutes before the Dhuhr prayer finishes. We were the only customers when we entered. Randy asked me and Joel about our preferred food then we let him placed our orders (Chicken Tikka Masala, Butter Chicken, Seafood Fried Rice, Naan Bread, and Gulab Jamum for dessert). He is our trusted connoisseur and the most familiar with the place. He explicitly requested to make the ordered viands extra spicy, as in Indian spicy, which I loved. The wait staff easily obliged. I became very eager to take photos while we were waiting for the food.

IMG_4037

The single section, which is on the ground floor, only has eight tables. There is only one part that has a huge over head lamp but the comfortable atmosphere is undeniable. The interior gives that combination of Indian and Saudi vibes though squeezed in a neat space.

IMG_4031

After just about four minutes, I went back to our table. Randy suggested the idea of taking photos at the family section, which according to him is a lot nicer. I and Joel immediately asked the receptionist cum cashier if we could get in. He asked the manager first and upon learning that there are no customers anyway, he enthusiastically signaled us to go check it–with a warning that we should leave the premises in the event that family customers start coming in. It is always polite to ask for permission especially when it comes to taking photographs here in Saudi Arabia.

IMG_4033

The family section is up a steep flight of stairs. This part of the restaurant shows a more lavish Middle Eastern, Indian feel. Proper air conditioning vents are visible and most of the tables have huge over head lamps. The tables are segregated with partitions and curtains to conform to local customs. We finished our photo op after five minutes and there was still not one customer when we left.

By the time we got back in the single section, the wait staff already started delivering the food. I have a thing with a chili aroma of anything edible so upon noticing the smell, I literally salivated. That was my fifth time visiting the restaurant but my palate still adores it.

IMG_4029

IMG_4032

IMG_4041

All of the dishes looked well-cooked and the presentation was nice. It was an opportune moment to devour the food. As we were mincing the butter chicken, Randy commented that the spice was a bit stronger than what he expected. Nonetheless, it was perfect for my already acquired Bicolano palate. I turned out to be the happiest among us three, especially during desserts’ time.

IMG_4030

IMG_4034

Whenever I asked an Indian colleague to comment on the restaurant, I usually get this: It is a good one but the dishes do not really fall under authentic Indian cuisine. The flavors are intentionally softened to suit Asian and Western tastes. Indian Summer main courses leave something to be desired because of their weak spicy flavor.

Overall, the restaurant gave me a decent run for my money. I had a delicious dive into the food and into the fraction of Indian history and culture.  The only challenge here is finding a parking lot. The first time I was brought here, we ended up parking at the back of a building, which is on the other side, attached to it. We had to walk past three blocks to get back to the entrance.

Visit indiansummer.com for more information about the restaurant and its branches in the city.

#riyadhdestinations #saudiarabia #travelstories #iphoneography #food #travel #indiansummer #restaurant #iphoneography

Related Blog Posts

Explore Riyadh: Indian Summer (explorationriyadh.blogspot.com)

20 Blogs From Saudi Arabia You Should Be Reading In 2016 (blueabaya.com)

Indian Summer -Savour your dining experience (indiansummeruae.com)

19 thoughts on “The Appetizing Dive Into Indian Summer

  1. This looks like a mouth-watering and eye-catching restaurant, Sony. You did very well in capturing the premises and its ambience – it does look like a cozy place with Indian patterns and styles all over. The head lamps look impressive and the way you focused on them is impressive. They even look like something you can have at home. Coupled with the tables and chairs and the hospitality of the staff, it looks like a homey place where you can relax. And it sounded ilke you and your posse did just that.

    Very good photos given you said you took about five minutes to take them all 😀

    I haven’t heard of that Indian dessert before, but “Chicken Tikka Masala, Butter Chicken, Seafood Fried Rice, Naan Bread” oh yes I have. I love butter chicken, albeit non-spicy or at most very mild. I am one who cannot take spicy because my tongue cannot stand it (and also because of stomach ulcers). But like you, I love the aroma of chilli, curry and so many other spices. Excellent close-up shots, especially of the naan bread.

    I don’t usually eat Indian food. But I do like naan bread a lot (or roti canai, which is Malaysian bread). When i was in primary school, the school canteen would serve it to us either with curry or a tablespoonful of sugar, our pick 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, Mabel. Indian Summer restaurants here offer five kinds of Indian dessert namely Kulfi (Home-made creamy ice cream), Gulab Jamun (Cottage cheese dumplings deep fried and served with sugar syrup and dry fruits), Rasmalai (Sweetened cottage cheese dumplings steamed and served with sweetened milk and dry fruits), Gajar Halwa (Carrot halwa served with dry fruits), and Kashmiri Kheer (Long grain rice cooked in milk garnished with dry fruits).

      I’m happy to know you love Indian food too, especially their aroma of chili, but sad that you don’t get to enjoy the spicy ones. Good thing they have different varieties, which I’m sure have non-spicy food.

      Enjoy your weekend. Our first day of work here is on Sundays.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That is quite a variety of desserts offered there. You could seriously spend one visit there just trying all the desserts. Those dessert dumplings sound so delectable and so does the halwa (my favourite kind of fruit halwa is banana halwa). Maybe one day you will get to try all of these desserts 😀

        I didn’t know that. Work hard, Sony. But not too hard, you know it 😀

        Like

      • I will keep that in mind, Mabel. Is it that obvious? That I’m so into my work. But I’m not as good as I thought. If only I’m as easy to grasp as when I was in college. The work environment is a lot more competitive and my skills seem to be out of place.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I feel you, Sony. The working world is a completely different world from school, and it really is so competitive. But you shine in your passions – in photography, and in writing. And above all, as a person and your family is lucky to have you.

        Like

  2. Nice post and beautiful photos! that sweet balls are similar to one of the Emiratis food but smaller in sizes and with molasses or honey as a syrup. I like Indian food but not too much spicy. My son love Butter chicken but only in NZ Indian restaurant as they captured the sweetness and buttery taste that we love so much. Here in AD I have tasted it as per Northern style and it is not as tasty as per previous experience. Not sure what is the real authentic flavour for this dish though.

    Liked by 3 people

Feedback is most welcome!

