Wadi Namar And Its Hidden Paradise


It’s no secret that yours truly is a licensed nature lover. My social media platforms, full of nature photos, can attest to that.

Yesterday, July 5, I was extra cheerful — secretly — knowing that July 6 was declared a public holiday. Since this happens only once a year, like really once a year, an hour or two (or more) of escape from the city walls is imperative. Well, at least for me and my housemates. During our dinner last night , I suggested the idea of making the most of the holiday, Eid al-Fitr’s first day, by taking a breather somewhere. Deviating from the everyday urban blares, increasing pleasant feelings and creativity, feeding the optical organs with green color, and simply making up for the lost times in the natural world are the main objectives — not de-stressing. Here in the Middle East, Ramadan days in business establishments are generally equated to easy days. This holds true in our workplace.

It goes without saying that all four of us came to a predictable agreement. This is how we got to what I now call the New Zealand of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), “Wadi Namar”, early in the morning today, July 6. The thirty-minute drive from Al Izdihar to Namar gave us surprising treats. Surprising because the objectives mentioned earlier all seemed to have been met by the time I was writing this post.

A few kilometers away from the main entrance, a long stretch of Wadi Namar Dam’s watercourse is actually visible. The point is, that stretch looked dry when we were approaching. Thank goodness there’s no sentry in the area and we’re on a one-way road. We just drove through until look there, we reached the wet part of the dam after about a kilometer.

IMG_4224

The place showcases nature wonders similar to New Zealand’s in my book.

IMG_4227

IMG_4226

The word “panacea” is not only formed but created each time I see the elements of nature converge — coming together to form spectacles that serve as food to the eyes and soul.

IMG_4233

This is usually how I describe every moment spent with nature.

IMG_4235

By the time I brought my camera out, the mighty sun rose from its seat. The air went wild with the leaves.

IMG_4234

The sky highlighted the harking birds with its blue delight. The river moved with majesty while the fish and ducks headed to a beautiful oblivion.

IMG_4254

Then the massive escarpments gently hugged the entire place.

IMG_4256

Wadi Namar is definitely a worthy addition to the list of the best nature parks in Riyadh and the whole KSA.

IMG_4242

IMG_4232

Aside from the indispensable nature treats it provides, it’s a great place for a picnic. Fishing, swimming, smoking shisha, and indiscriminate photographing though are not allowed.

IMG_4257

We were on a weekday which was conducive to our ideal respite. There were only a few people around, parking lots are there for the taking, and there were less women and children which makes photographing a lot easier. My and Riyadh travel bloggers’ friendly tip is, don’t go there on Fridays or Saturdays but weekdays. Unless, you enjoy waiting in queue for parking lots, listening to crowd’s noise, or getting a chance to shoot the sights without people as distractions in the background.

IMG_4244

Also, if you want to take awesome overhead shots, you just need to go on top of the other side’s hill.

IMG_4246

The way should be easy based on the the lay of the land but you can ask the utility workers in the park or the locals for direction if getting lost is not an option.

IMG_4249

A trip down this place is a perfect “seize the day” moment.

IMG_4245

Wadi Namar is an absolute haven for city dwellers.

#landmark #riyadh #saudiarabia #wadinamar #namarlake #riyadhdestinations #naturepark #riyadhdams

GPS Location/Map HERE!

Most Prominent Valleys in KSA (altayyartravelblog.com)

What To Do During Eid (Riyadh Center)  (thepinktarha.com)

Morning walk by the lake (ofangelsandseagulls.blogspot.com)

One Sunny Day at Wadi Namar… (travelingmin.wordpress.com)

A Winter Afternoon at Wadi Namar (pixelsforfour.blogspot.com)

Riyadh Through National Geographic’s Eyes (destinationksa.com)

Wadi Namar: A Beautiful Place To Visit In Riyadh (girlfromarabia.com)

Riyadh’s parks are a major attraction for residents during Eid (eyeofriyadh.com)

WANDERLUST WEDNESDAY KSA: HAQL SHIPWRECK BEACH (blueabaya.com)

#POTD: To the Edge of the World we go (abielonline.com)

27 thoughts on “Wadi Namar And Its Hidden Paradise

  1. Wadi Namar looks beautiful from all angles, Sony. You did an amazing job of capturing it all round and it’s hard for me to pick a favourite shot. I really like the shot of the ducks, the first one. It looks like they are all trying to keep up with each other , or playing “follow the leader” 😀

    Certain places can certainly be crowded at certain times of the week, month or year. Good to see you enjoyed peace and quiet without too many distractions as you put it. Personally, I am not fan of crowds as I am short and they can block my view, or they can get in the way when I want to get to a certain spot fast on my feet.

    “optical organs”. You know I love that phrase. Love Sony-vocabulary 😀

    Like

    • Yes, Mabel. This is by far the most beautiful nature park I’ve seen here in the desert. I’m privileged to have set foot on it.

      I actually thought of making a separate blog post about the ducks, the story and kind of amusement they give, while I was watching them. Time is something I don’t have though at this point as I need to attend to my laundry and some other personal obligations. 😄

      I also hate crowded places actually except in concerts or similar scenarios.

      As for the Sony vocabulary, thanks a lot. I love your vocabulary way better though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Why A Travel Blogger Like Me Writes About Grammar, & A New Batch of Pet Peeves on the List | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  3. If only I could take flight right this moment and would love to drench myself on that clear water. Wow, you got me speechless with how you convey your thoughts into words. Ah before I stopped, I’m literally jealous in your amazing eyes, I’m seeing an art of capturing photos.

    Like

    • That holiday is holy, Lai. It only happens once a year–in our workplace. Most of the companies, especially government ones, impose that one week holiday during Eid.

      So spending it at home is a big No No for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Spots for Nature Lovers in Riyadh | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

