Street Photography in Dirah: A Prologue to the “Top 5 Spots for Nature Lovers in Riyadh”


I got into a no blogging phase after my last post (“Calaguas Island Tour’s Day 2: The Time of Our Lives“) on September 12 due to working on some higher priorities so to speak.

A few days ago, I tried so hard to get back into blogging after the long pause. It was foiling…I wrote different blog titles but none of them reached the draft stage. Tonight, I just dived into it and―look there―this prologue to the post (“Top 5 Spots for Nature Lovers in Riyadh”)  that I had tried to finish long before the hiatus.

The title was actually a suggestion from Ms. Laura Alho of the Blue Abaya. She commented on one of the photos I posted on my Instagram last July 25. I was star-struck; nonetheless, got more motivated and inspired considering her reputation. Subsequently, she sent me an email  about guest posting. I did not fully understand it was about that until my long break. When I was in the mood to compose it though, priorities crept in as stated earlier. I was unable to get back to her on time so I now decided to have the post on the blog instead. Thankfully, my writing mojo is back and there is no stopping it (at least for now).

But before I publish that post, I would like to share with you three of my most favorite snapshots―which were all taken along Al Thumairi Street in Ad Dirah during my first (“The Very Colorful And Nitid Land Of Golden Souqs“) and second visits there to do street photography with my housemates (Alvin and Marwin), officemates (Ace and Charles), and Onel (thechinitowanderer).

Doing photography for almost five years now, I still consider myself an amateur because the only “science” behind my technique is trial and error―pressing the shutter countless times only to pick just a few in the end.

P1070813

That said, there were a lot of things that I learned from the experience of being a non-pro photographer. One of which is that there is something beautiful out of the mundane. That I have the power to make something boring interesting rather than trying to capture something interesting in a boring way. I believe this is what matters most in photography. It has become my social media platforms’ catchphrase as well as a guiding principle in this craft ever since.

downtown-deira-1

Those two visits in downtown Riyadh made me realize that, beyond question, street photography is all about capturing beauty in the mundane.

img_0408

Learn to embrace the ordinary things around you because doing so could unlock your true potential in photography.

Related Posts

Finding magic in the mundane (kennettsquaretoday.com)

Creating Something Beautiful Out Of The Mundane (yobynos.wordpress.com)

5 Photographers That Find Beauty in The Mundane (hashtagphotographymagazine.co.uk)

13 thoughts on “Street Photography in Dirah: A Prologue to the “Top 5 Spots for Nature Lovers in Riyadh”

  1. Really enjoyed this short post about your take on photography, Sony. “I have the power to make something boring interesting rather than trying to capture something interesting in a boring way.” I really like this approach, and I can see that it shines through a lot of your photos. From what I have seen and observed of your photography, your photos radiate colour, warmth and above all lots of fun and joy. There is something positive about each shot that you take.

    In this set, I really like the second last one of downtown Riyadh. Low enough angle to capture the traffic but at the same time high enough to capture the sky high grandeur of architecture Saudi is so well known for.

    Five years doing photography. That is quite a long time as a photographer? Amateur? In my eyes you are so much more than an amateur, and it amazes me how you still have the skill to pick up where you left and produce such shots that are brilliance to our optical organs 😉 For me, this is hard. There are times like weeks where I won’t touch my camera due to work or some personal issue, and when I finally start to take photos again, I feel all the shots turn out boring. I’m the kind of person who looses my groove when I stop doing something.

    Looking forward to seeing more posts from you, and they in turn will be boosters for my writing and photography inspiration (one of my favourite shots from you is the airplane shot). I don’t know if you have done this, but it would be great to see a whole post about the way you do your photography. Maybe you might have done that in an eariler post, maybe I have missed it, I don’t know. But you have a great perspective.

    Like

    • Mabel, I’d like to reiterate that I’m the one trying hard to follow your footsteps as far as writing and photography is concerned. Your writing skill is impeccable and your photos reflect so much passion.

      If I were you then I’d be really glad if you talk about your photography and writing style. Sorry to have thrown the favor back at you. It’s just that I perceive your works that way and I’m constantly in awe each time I spend time reading your posts. Nevertheless, my heart shouts for joy knowing that you appreciate my works.

      And, please don’t every lose your groove. 🙂

      Like

      • That is very nice of you to say, Sony. Thank you very much. We have never met but I have always felt connected to your works, and to you as person, when you left your first comment on my blog. But more often than not I get…stuck. But isn’t that all of us.

        Challenge accepted 😉

        Like

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Spots for Nature Lovers in Riyadh | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  3. Pingback: A Minor Excursion to One of Saudi Arabia’s Historical Treasures: Al Masmak Fort and Museum | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

