I Am A Moth And So Are You!


There are many different ways that lights can be used. They can set a relaxing mood on your porches and decks, illuminate your gardens, or brighten driveways, walkways, steps and the other areas of your home or establishments.

Holiday Inn Izdihar Hall Back

Facade of Holiday Inn Izdihar’s Even Hall

They can also provide safety. Lighted driveways and walk ways give a safe passage to those entering and exiting your property at night. This can prevent some small accidents from happening like tripping over things.

Holiday Inn Izdihar Hall Facade

Entrance of Holiday Inn Izdihar’s Event Hall

Lights at home also give the impression that someone is always inside as there are very limited dark places for trespassers to feel like they can be unseen. So they increase the security of our houses. The same is true for other property types.

Chapel Chandelier

Somewhere in Nassim

Above all these architectural lighting design benefits, lights have always mesmerized me because of their very special and unique appeal. They never fail to fascinate my optical organs whenever I catch them boast that visual quality like no other.

Cabalen Aesthetics

Somewhere in Batha

No wonder, the aesthetic appeal of lights is the first focus among the three fundamental aspects of architectural lighting design based on what I read.

BK's Blade Lights

KFC, Exit 6

I have always marveled at lights when I have the chance to even when I was younger. It is only now though that I was able to comprehend where that exquisite pull comes from. There is, of course, science behind it. And behind the science is a lighting designer who does most of the technical works—from measuring whether or not a particular light should be subtly blended into the background or whether or not it should stand out and assess what kind of emotions the lighting should evoke. If I were to give an answer to the latter, I would say relaxation. I feel that form of mild ecstasy each time I am in a place seeing lights illuminating a place or when I see them flickering  in the night.

Applebee's Illuminated Wall

Applebee’s, Hayat Mall

The most attractive ambiance, as an example with how visually captivating lights are, I could think if is that of the restaurants’ interior. Their visual quality has always intrigued me. For years, I have noticed one enchanting physical characteristic of these places: the dimness, which provides drama and appeal. There is this study that was done in 2012 by Cornell University pertinent to the relaxed mood we get from such kind of ambiance. The results postulate that restaurants’ lighting indeed affects our moods…The catch is definitely good news for those who love eating out at casual dining restaurants and the like.

Applebee's Interior Light's The Four

Applebee’s, Hayat Mall

The meat of the study says that dim lights cause us to eat less because a relaxed atmosphere, brought about by dim lights, affects the appetite.

Applebee's Interior Light 3 Applebee's Interior Light 4
Applebee's Interior Light2

A softened lighting leads people to eat less, to rate the food as more enjoyable, and to spend just as much. This postulates that a more relaxed environment increases satisfaction and decreases consumption.

But I digress. Let us go back to the main point—which is trying to understand the engaging visual appeal of lights.

The lighting designers in the University of Minnesota have answers. Their research titled “Lighting: Its Effect on People and Spaces” concluded that (1) basically people are like moths—attracted to brightness—and (2) they prefer spaces where walls are illuminated. We are bound to follow the brightest path when navigating. When it comes to restaurants or hotspots environment though, we do not like to sit in brightness but love to see brightness. So we tend to face walls that are illuminated.

Applebee's Interior Light 1

I now understand why I am pulled by the lights. I am a moth in that sense.

Applebee's Interior Light 5

With all the readings and observation I did regarding the magnetism lights possess, I gained a whole new level of appreciation for lights. I no longer see them as just a piece of valuable architecture that provides light to be able to walk safely through the office corridors at night, to allow the whole property to be on show during night time, or simply to provide for safe circulation within available spaces or so I could recognize a flake on my black shirt. I now see them as something that adds a touch of magic and something that pushes my “visual interest button”. Lights have never been these much of an exciting subject for me. I would not mind being a moth as long as what I go after are similar to the photographs. I am a moth and so are you!

Related Blog Posts

Paris, The City of Lights, Really Lights Up at Christmas at seattletimes.com

 Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrasts at yobynos.wordpress.com

Around The World at Landmarks Park at thepinktarha.com

The Top 5 Malls in Riyadh at thepinktarha.com

13 thoughts on “I Am A Moth And So Are You!

  1. So I am a moth, too. And now I know the reason for my utter dislike for bright lights (though I am sure that my severe case of astigmatism is the real culprit for it! 😦 — and why I love illuminated (only) places. I like the pictures! Especially the 8th one. I want them for my house in the Philippines! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, Beth. I’m still struggling with responding to my commenters not to mention getting back here (like before). This explains the delay.

      I feel you on your dislike for bright lights. I actually prefer dim lights obviously. Not the type who would revel on spotlights–literally.

      Number 7 is actually what I liked most oo.

      Like

  2. Like you, I’ve always like lights too. I love it when the sun goes down and the lights come on on all the office buildings in the city, all twinkling in the darkness. Light displays and exhibits are popular in Melbourne, especially during wintertime where you can find them in the city for free.

    I agree with you about eating in dim light, or a warmly illuminated room – personally I like it. But my Chinese Malaysian family are not fans of it and prefer eating under bright light, like fluorescent light.

    Like

    • Hello, Mabel. I’m still struggling with responding to my commenters not to mention getting back here (like before) up to this time. My sincere apologies.

      But I so appreciate you bearing with me. Melbourne…I could just imagine how beautiful the scene is. And I am picturing something Par*ish now (pun intended). Happy to know your Malaysian family are so like us in the Philippines.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Muse | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

