A Haven for Chocoholics: “dip ‘n dip”


It was the start of winter last year when I and some friends went to Riyadh Gallery. That was when I first saw this chocolate store called “dip ‘n dip“. I was scouting around the food court for something to stuff in my sac after shopping when I passed by it. The store made quite an impression on me because of customers I saw patiently waiting in a long queue−not along the counter but outside. I then thought there must be something really special in there. As much as I want to know what it was, patience is something I do not have if I were to wait in long lines. That was exactly eight months ago.

Last 08 August 2015, I had to meet a blogger friend, Beth, the lovely author behind “Pixels For Four” that talks up Saudi life and things under the sun, for an unfinished business. I needed to hand some pictures, which I took during another friend’s special event, to her at the mall–Riyadh Gallery. I never knew said date was meant for me to discover the kind of craze that is now creeping into the heart of not only chocolate lovers but the whole of the main city’s people here in the kingdom.

IMG_7778

After handing her the flash drive, they invited me to join them for a heavy snack. Since I was in a perfect mood for something saccharine, giving in to dip ‘n dip’s the esculent wonders was way too easy.

6A

The ambiance of the place was now far inviting than the last time. There were no long lines but few available tables good for four people. While I and Beth’s family were busy leafing through the menu’s pages, I noticed the coziness blistering from the red paint covering the walls and cushiony chairs. The color of love just complements the brown tables around and each of them has a mini manual stove for the fondue. I guess the idea behind the red, black, white, and brown theme is to invoke people’s imagination of a world that is close, if not similar, to Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory. A world of chocolate!

1A

If you add the estimable service crew to the aforementioned, the place will turn into a haven—chocolate haven—not a fondue house nor a chocolate heaven. The sleek and laid-back interiors are of a cafe but I really like the protruding dip ‘n dip graffiti on the entrance’s wall.

1B

Deciding on what to order was a real challenge. All of what I saw in the menu made my mouth water. I could see the Palacios Family having the same dilemma. Then again the fit and healthy side of me took over so I ordered “dip n dip waffle”.

3

While we were waiting, we were offered to try Arabic Coffee which is a complimentary service. We humbly obliged of course. The coffee’s taste is something very different for a first timer. However, upon learning from Beth’s husband the kind of meticulous preparation the coffee boasts, my view of its, for lack of a better term, alien taste changed into something exquisite. I immediately emptied what is in the tiny cup.

IMG_7701

A few minutes later, we were up for chow time. The view of the crew while they were laying our orders (Fettuccine Crepé, Classic Decadent dip n dip Brownie, and my dip n dip Waffle) down was a salivating treat. Our table instantly transformed into an autobot groaning toothsome comestibles.

IMG_7743

IMG_7722

Soon, I came face to face with my waffle. Staring at it making love with chunks of strawberries, kiwi, banana, and pineapple while they were being drizzled with pasty, succulent Belgian chocolate a meter up in the air was such a gaping experience. Nom nom nom for the chocolate fountains on display!

IMG_7719

For some reason I was like transported to the time I was all crazy about sweets. (I was secretly wishing to share this wonder with my kids, who are now both at perfect age to relish this kind of experience, back home.)

IMG_7724

IMG_7759

The next thing I know was I was mincing the waffle on my white, shiny plate. I just could not get enough of it after taking a slice in my mouth.

IMG_7761

Simultaneous with sipping from my all-time favorite fruit shake (strawberry banana) was chewing the softness of the waffle coupled with the superb blend of Belgian chocolate. Oh, it was simply perfection!

IMG_7746

I gradually swung to the delectable fruits. I never knew strawberry, kiwi, banana, and pineapple, and chocolate go together in perfect harmony. Trust me when I say, they do! For the first time, I learned not to gobble down something special as this food. I realized it is indeed hard to enjoy a food at its fullest if it goes by too quickly not to mention if it is extra special. I could not be more convinced that I made the right choice (i.e., spending extra for very special desserts) not only by the indulging delight from every fruit chunk or waffle slice but by looking at the faces of the Palacios family. They obviously displayed that much needed body languages to revel in Dip ‘n Dip’s creations all the more.

IMG_7764

For me, this gastronomic pleasure would not be complete if I (make that we) will not conclude it with the scrumptious, beyond question, dip ‘n dip (Belgian) Hot Chocolate. With this and all the things I have said, I must have gotten infected with a disease called “chocoholic“. All I can think of now is coming back to that haven…for chocoholics! I smile each time I do that. 🙂 Yey!

IMG_7750

One impressive thing about their array of products is none of them is overly sweet. No wonder, foodies and even ordinary people of the main city are flocking to the place at the third floor of Riyadh Gallery. Here is a hot of the press news from the very store’s manager: A week from now, two new branches will open at Hayat Mall and Tahalia Street near Chili’s.

IMG_7765

To date, dip ‘n dip has a multitude of branches in Armenia, Canada, Egypt, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Saudi, Syria, Turkey, the U.A.E., and counting. Please visit their website and follow/like their social media platforms appearing in the above photo for more information (complete list of their menus, news, franchise, history, etc.) about this rising name.

Related Articles

Chocolate Lovers Delight @ Dip n Dip at tetaadventurer.blogpspot.com

Dip Deep Into Chocolate at the pinktarha.com

dip n dip: A Chocoholic’s Delight at pixelsforfour.blogspot.com

11 thoughts on “A Haven for Chocoholics: “dip ‘n dip”

  1. What a full-on chocolate snack. Or meal, should I say. So they poured the Belgian chocolate on your waffle right in front of you? It certainly all looks delicious, very generous amount of chocolate. I’m a big chocoholic. In fact, I’m eating chocolate now as I type this.

    It’s not often I get to have a chocolate haven treat like this. There are lots of chocolate haven places similar to dip n dip here in Australia, but they don’t come cheap. Plus, I need to be hungry enough for it 😀 One chocolate treat I’ve always wanted to try is a Nutella pizza.

    I am not sure if you would want to share such a chocolate treat with your kids. For all you know, they might be grab your share and eat it too before you can 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2015: A Year of Affirmations, Blurbs, and New Connections | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Feedback is most welcome!

